23 May, 2022

Roosters winning streak continues

THE Atherton Roosters first grade side have stretched their winning streak to six after a romping 50-4 victory over Edmonton Storm in Saturday night’s FNQ Rugby League Round 7 premiership match played at Atherton’s Mungalli Creek Dairy Stadium.

Roosters winning streak continues - feature photo

Last time the Roosters won six in a row was back in 2019, the year they fell one game short of the grand final. On Saturday, the Roosters were flying high early after tries to Jermaine Pedro, Glenn Dumbrell and James Clark had them up 18-0, just 16 minutes into the match. 

The Roosters were pushing all the buttons and had their opposition struggling to stay in the contest. Brett Power and Nick Pratten were next to score four pointers which gave the Roosters a 28-0 lead at the break. Two more tries soon after the restart pushed the Roosters further ahead 38-0 before Edmonton registered their first try and only match points at the 60th minute. .

Flying Roosters fullback Ty Grogan finished the nights scoring with a standout chip and chase to give him two tries and a total of twenty match points. The first grade points table after 7 rounds is – Atherton 12, Brothers 12, Mossman 10, Ivanhoes 10, Innisfail 10, kangaroos 8, Yarrabah 6, Tully 6, Suburbs 4, Mareeba 2, Edmonton 2. Atherton’s under 18 side remain undefeated in 2022 following their 48-4 win over Edmonton. 

Frances Ghee crossed for a treble in the Roosters count while Stanley Bustard grabbed a double. In reserve grade, Edmonton took the points 18-10 after the Roosters had led 6-0 at the break. The Senior Roosters host Innisfail in Round 8 of the competition this Saturday. The first grade clash draws plenty of interest as Innisfail defeated the Roosters in round one earlier this year, the hosts only loss in 2022.


Most Popular