Community & Business

24 January, 2023

Australia Day awards to recognise worthy locals

WORTHY members of the community and organisations will attend Australia Day Awards ceremonies on Thursday to celebrate and acknowledge those who do good things for the region.

Australia Day awards to recognise worthy locals - feature photo

Tablelands Regional Council Mayor Rod Marti will announce the winners of 34 nominations across nine categories at its ceremony at the Atherton International Club on Australia Day.

“It’s fantastic to see these exceptional people and groups being recognised,” Mayor Marti said.

“We have such a great community and that doesn’t happen without the contribution of people like those who have been nominated.”

Mareeba Mayor Angela Toppin will present awards at the Shire’s ceremony to be held at the Ma-reeba International Club.

“Council received nominations for worthy indi-viduals and groups who exemplify the community spirit and generosity that is so evident throughout our region,” she said.

“On behalf of the councillors, I would like to invite all residents and visitors to council's Australia Day Awards ceremony. The event starts at 10am and is open to the public.”

The event will also be live streamed from the Mareeba Shire Council Facebook page.


Citizen of the Year

Gail Barton

Raymond Byrnes

Gill Harrington

Peter MacGregor

Young Citizen of the Year

Tylah Burnett

Taylah Dalgety

Marni Dennis

Chloe Robertson

Community Service Award

Atherton Meals on Wheels

Atherton State Emergency Services

Tania Bolger and Anita Brennan

Aaron Dozier

Jaelene Durrand

Bree Hargreaves

Donna Leigh

Glenn McKeown

Doreen Mortimore

The Slotted Spoon

Peter Tuck and Tableland Trees, Trails and Tracks

Sarah Woodleigh

Inclusion Award

Atherton Show Society

Better Together Community Support

Eacham Community Help Organisation Inc.

Jirrbal Aboriginal


Cultural Award

Kirsten Adams

Rebel Warren

Junior Cultural Award

Atherton Performing Arts Youth Theatre

Tahalia Durrand

Junior Sports Award

Breanne Wadley

Sports Supporter Award

Louise Anderson-Clemence

Annette Schep

Community Event of Year

Malanda Christmas Street Festival

Malanda Show Ball

Smokey Blue Rally


Aerielle Hobbler

Alannah Falvo

Christian Mukadi

Coco Gambino

Delwyn Richards

Dr Merrilee Frankish

Eloise Bertola

Frank Tulloch

John Pearce

Joshua Snell

Marcia Nguyen

Mareeba Gymnastics Club

Mareeba Theatre Group

Michael Dwyer

William (Bill) McKerlie

William Hanlon


Most Popular