Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.

Latest News

26 January, 2020

Australia Day - All the winners.

All Australia day winners listed

By Phil Brandel

As Australia Day 2020 comes to a close, we would like to congratulate all the winners from across FNQ.

In the Mareeba Shire:

The voice of the Tablelands’ horticultural community and prominent businessman, Joe Moro was been named Mareeba Shire Council's Citizen of the Year for 2020.

Mareeba Junior Citizen of the Year Alexis Ford with Mayor Tom Gilmore and Citizen of the year Joe Moro

Other award winners included:

  • Junior Citizen of the Year: Alexis Ford
  • Cultural Award: Julatten Theatre Group
  • Community Event of the Year: Lions International 201Q2 Zone 2 Tablelands District Convention
  • Sporting Club of the Year: Mareeba Gymnastics Club
  • Community Group of the Year: Mareeba PCYC Seniors Club
  • Special Commendation: Western Progress Association Inc. Watsonville
  • Community Service Person of the Year: Janette Hodgkinson
  • Sports Administrator of the Year: Terrinette Neilson
  • Senior Sportsperson of the Year: Wayne Bryde
  • Highly Commended: Qamile Myrteza
  • Highly Commended: Susi Wahjuningrum
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Jake Bombardieri
  • Junior Cultural Award: Roeith Geraghty

In the Atherton Shire:

“It was a real honour to recognise these amazing people in our community,” said Mayor Joe Paronella.

“Congratulations to all the nominees and recipients and to our Citizen of the Year — Gregory English."

TRC Citizen of the year Greg English, Mayor Joe Paronella and Young Citizen of the year Riley Vallance.

Other TRC award winners included:

  • Young Citizen of the Year — Riley Vallance
  • Community Event of the Year — Atherton Performing Arts 40th Anniversary Celebrations
  • Community Service — John Whyte
  • Sports Administrator — Larry Crook
  • Junior Sports — Breanne Wadley and Amy Hunter
  • Cultural — Sarah Riber
  • Junior Cultural — Atherton Performing Arts Community Youth Group

In the Douglas Shire:A Founder of Port Douglas Carnivale and a passionate advocate for the region’s nature-based tourism industry is Douglas Shire’s Citizen of the Year. Radio personality and entertainment champion, Michael Gabour, who has dedicated more than 30 years to developing and growing the local music industry, received special recognition today at the 2020 Australia Day Awards in Port Douglas.

Douglas Shire Citizen of the year Michael Gabour

Other award winners included:

  • Young Citizen Of The Year- Unity Beitzel
  • Volunteer Of The Year - Stephen Hull
  • Arts & Cultural Award - Jill Chis
  • Environmental Achievement Award - Karen Renouf-Thomas
  • Senior Sports Award - Brad Cooper
  • Junior Sports Award - Gwyneth Dowell
  • Civic Recognition Award - Caitlin O’Neil-Nulty

In the Cook Shire:

Dedicated volunteers Alan Wilson and John ‘Tex’ Harrison were announced as joint winners of the Cook Shire Australia Day Citizen of the Year Award at a ceremony in Cooktown today.

Cook Shire Citizen of the Year – Alan Wilson

Other award winners included:

  • Young Citizen of the Year Shaelanee Hegamaea
  • Sports Award Cooktown Amateur Swimming Club
  • Volunteer of the Year QCWA Cooktown Branch
  • Arts and Culture Award Harold Ludwick
  • Environmental Award Kristina Davidson and Joanne Reuben

Congrats to all winners and nominees.

Most Popular

© 2020 The Express Newspaper - Providing Local News for Mareeba, Atherton, Cooktown, Kuranda & across the Tablelands.