Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.

Latest News

26 January, 2022

Mareeba locals to be recognised

MAREEBA Shire Council Mayor Angela Toppin has commended all the nominees for this week’s Australia Day Awards.

Photo - Pexels

“This year, council received 20 nominations for worthy individuals and groups from across the Shire who exemplify the community spirit and generosity that is so evident throughout the region,” she said. 

“This year, due to density limits, the Australia Day Awards Ceremony will be by invite only, however, council will livestream the ceremony on Facebook and we invite all members of the community to join the celebration ‘virtually’.”

  • Lee Gordon 
  • Tammy Sivyer 
  • Tom Paterson
  • Leonard Hodges 
  • Historical Society of Mareeba 
  • Irene Roy 
  • Angus Campman 
  • Wildlife & Raptor Care Queensland 
  • Mareeba Gymnastics Club Inc 
  • Natasha Srhoj 
  • The Hungry Pug 
  • Rotary FNQ Field Days 
  • Cain Hastie 
  • Norma Moloney 
  • Ellen Duff 
  • The Combined Saints Band 
  • Frances Petersen 
  • Kara Trimble 
  • Chillagoe Alliance Inc 
  • Nicole Theakston

The Express will publish all the winners on its website on Wednesday afternoon. More stories about the winners will be in the 2 February edition.

Most Popular

© 2020 The Express Newspaper - Providing Local News for Mareeba, Atherton, Cooktown, Kuranda & across the Tablelands.