Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.

Latest News

8 April, 2020

New Mareeba Shire Council announced

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) has finally declared the Mareeba Shire Council (MSC) with Angela Toppin announced as the new Mayor.

By Phil Brandel

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) has finally declared the Mareeba Shire Council (MSC) with Angela Toppin officially announced as the new Mayor.

The announcement comes 11 days after the election which was held on March 28.

Ms Toppin today released a statement saying, “It’s with great humility that I can now confirm, following the formal declaration of the Electoral Commission Queensland, that I have been elected Mayor of the Mareeba Shire.’ she wrote

“To those who have supported me, believed in me from the moment I nominated, and been consistent in your faith and friendship - thank you from the bottom of my heart,

“Nipper Brown has been a great opposing counterpart and provided me with a true contest. I congratulate Nipper on his campaign and contribution to our shire over the past six years. I wish he and his family well. The beauty of this election has been that every candidate has only wanted the very best for our shire and residents.”

In her statement, Ms Toppin acknowledged outgoing Mayor Tom Gilmore. “I feel so much gratitude for our past Mayor Tom Gilmore, for his faith and support, for encouraging me to nominate. Thank you also to Deputy Mayor Alan Pedersen for your encouragement. The campaign wasn’t always easy but certainly worth the investment. I wish you both every success and contentment as you pursue other goals and dreams.”

Ms Toppin also thanked her family and campaign team. “Thank you to my husband Lawrie, for your unwavering support and stamina. Thank you to my daughter Kristen for your passion, vision and loyalty,

“Thank you to my campaign team, you can all sleep this weekend. Let’s make our shire stronger, better and future proof.”

The ECQ also announced this afternoon the six councillors who will make up the new MSC.

Including: Mary Graham, Locky Bensted, Kevin Davies, Lenore Wyatt, Danny Bird and Mario Mlikota.


Most Popular

© 2020 The Express Newspaper - Providing Local News for Mareeba, Atherton, Cooktown, Kuranda & across the Tablelands.