Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.

Latest News

22 September, 2020

Record breaking event

SPEEDWAY action returned to Mareeba Speedway on Saturday night in a big way.

By Rhys Thomas

SPEEDWAY action returned to Mareeba Speedway on Saturday night in a big way.

With Covid restrictions still affecting speedways in Southern Queensland, drivers from across the state were racing to Mareeba to get onto
the starting line.

Two North Queensland Titles were conducted with local Matty Smith taking out the Modified Sedan title, Brisbane's Darran Lester second and Mackay's Brodie Boss third.

It was Matty Fleming from Townsville who romped home with the Formula 500 title with young Cairns driver Tessa Underwood in second and Mareeba's John Magro a close third.

Vice President of Mareeba Speedway Tim Smith said “The 1200 people crowd, the huge fields, the racing and the atmosphere were beyond our expectations, I had to go back into town for more supplies not once but three times,” he said.

“It was great, the whole town got behind this event and made for the recordbreaking meeting.”


NQ FORMULA 500TITLE: 1 Mathew Fleming - Cairns, 2 Tessa Underwood - Cairns, 3 John Magro - Mareeba.

SPRINTCARS1 Cameron King - Cairns, 2 Wes Jenkins - Cairns, 3 Mike Walsh - Cairns.

NQ MODIFIED SEDAN TITLE1 Matty Smith - Mareeba, 2 Darran Lester - Brisbane, 3 Brodie Boss -MacKay.

FORMULA 4001 Terrance O’Brien - Townsville, 2 Chat O’Brien Townsville, 3 Len Pollock - Townsville.

SUPER SEDANS1 Stacey Lee - Townsville, 2 Ross McKenzie - Tolga, 3 Ian Wallace - Mareeba.

Most Popular

© 2020 The Express Newspaper - Providing Local News for Mareeba, Atherton, Cooktown, Kuranda & across the Tablelands.