General News

26 September, 2022

Roosters crow to victory

The Atherton Senior Roosters are the newly crowned premiers of the FNQ rugby league under 18 competition after downing Kangaroos 34-16 in Saturday’s grand final played at Barlow Park.

Roosters under 18 captain Aiden Carson shows the premiers shield.
Roosters under 18 captain Aiden Carson shows the premiers shield.

This premiership was last won by the Roosters back in 2004 and now returns to Atherton 18 years later following a clinical performance by the 2022 young Roosters outfit who delivered.

There was a huge supporter base there for the Roosters and the cheering got louder as the match went on.

Atherton were almost flawless with the ball in hand and they showed good discipline as they went ahead to lead 22-10 at half time, before running away with the contest in the second-half, setting up what would turn out to be an emphatic 18 point win.

Man of the Match Tait Coghlan crossed for two tries in the Roosters count while Jhidan Dikes, Morgan Payne, Stanley Bustard and Kaleb Nielsen scored one each.


Roosters under 18 coach Ben Fahlstrom said he was very proud of his side.

“It’s outstanding,” he said.

“The boys put in a great effort all year, so its a really a good reward for them.”

Fahlstrom said he was particularly impressed with the grand final win.

“We controlled the game and in the end it was a great end to a top year.”

Man of the Match, Tait Coghlan
Man of the Match, Tait Coghlan

Results from the grand finals played on Saturday were – Womans Edmonton 28 vs Kangaroos 16, reserve grade Brothers 28 vs Innisfail 23, first grade Brothers 26 vs Mossman 24


Most Popular